The beauty of hijaab, Anonymous Sister from S.A

sorry peeps I know I said it was the last, but after reading yet another inspirational story I couldn’t stop myself but post, so here goes….Ali —

FEELING THE LOVE….

“And tell the believing women to lower their gaze and be modest, and to display of their adornment only that which is apparent, and to draw their veils over their bosoms, and not to reveal their adornment save to their own husbands or fathers or husbands’ fathers, or their sons or their husbands’ sons, or their brothers or their brothers’ sons or sisters’ sons, or their women, or their slaves, or male attendants who lack vigour, or children who know naught of women’s nakedness. And let them not stamp their feet so as to reveal what they hide of their adornment. And turn unto Allah together, O believers, in order that ye may succeed.”

31 October 2013 sees me celebrating 7 years of being in Niqaab. 7 magnificent years that I look at so fondly. As I try to share my journey , I am filled with so many emotions. So many memories that I hold so close to my heart. But most of all, I am once again reminded of the Love that Allah Ta’ala has for His slaves.

Allah Ta’ala utilized all my precious friends and family to guide me to Niqaab. Albeit most of them not being in Niqaab or full Hijaab, their kindness, love and inspiring actions all served as a means through which I was able to finally adopt the Niqaab. Two of the most influential people who inspired such a change, was my Mualimah and Ayesha, a class mate who had started her Niqaab journey a few months before me.

It was my Mualimah who nurtured my love for Allah Ta’ala by illustrating that Islam is there to make our lives easier, and that Allah Ta’ala loves us so much that even though this world is a test for mankind, Allah Ta’ala still wants us to live a life of peace and happiness!

Ayesha had given me one thought and that was all it took for my heart to turn to Niqaab – It is easier to please Allah Ta’ala rather than to try and please mankind. Each persons expectations are different, and even those expectations change with time. Whereas Allah Ta’ala’s expectations have and will always remain constant.

These past 7 years were filled with many obstacles which presented themselves in various forms. Being someone who always tries to think of the positives, I wont spend much time on this part of the journey. Although I must admit that the toughest moments were when I had to face insults and criticism from the people I deeply loved.
‘How are you going to get married?’, ‘How will you study?’, ‘You will be the only Niqaabi in the school!’, ‘There is no place for Niqaabis in the workplace!’, ‘How long is this phase going to last?’ , ‘If you don’t take off the Niqaab for the interview, you wont get the job!’. Those were just some of the comments and questions. My favourite answer which I still use is ‘I will cross that bridge when I come to it.’. Looking back, I smile as I think about how My Beloved Allah Ta’ala opened doors that I would never have imagined to be there. ‘If Allah Ta’ala takes you to it, Allah Ta’ala will get you through it!’.
The tears always followed those strong facades that I faced such comments with. But nothing comforted me more then being able to shed those tears on my prayer mat before The King of All Kings, The Knower of All Things, The Hearer of All Cries.

One of the most important lessons I have learnt throughout my journey, is the power of an intention. This is the fuel of every action. It is this that will allow a person to continue with the action regardless of the situation they face. And when an action is done solely for the pleasure of Allah Ta’ala, Allah Ta’ala grants one the strength to continue, clears all obstacles with ease, brings peace and contentment into the person’s heart, and allows them to be used for the service of His deen. ‘Verily every action is judged by it’s intention’.

Whilst wearing my Niqaab Allah Ta’ala showered His Blessings upon me such that I was able to complete my schooling in a co-ed school, attend university and be elected as class representative, successfully complete my degree, and be head hunted by a reputable company Alhamdulillah. All Praise is due only to Allah Ta’ala who has continued to bless me. Allah Ta’ala has blessed me with colleagues who are non-Muslim yet still assist me with my Imaan. They are always reminding me to pray, telling others why I dress the way I do and warning men not to shake my hand. May Allah Ta’ala guide them all to Islam inshaAllah.

Having Allah Ta’ala as your friend and confidant, surrounding yourself with good company, attaching yourself to a good mentor and having a good role model are what I would list as the most critical parts of spiritual progression.

It is only through the Unconditional Love of Allah Ta’ala that I have been able to carry out this form of worship for so long. Knowing that I had Allah Ta’ala by my side has equipped me with a strength I never knew I possess.

To all those who are battling in their journey’s, remember that Allah Ta’ala, The King of All Kings, dearly loves you. Sometimes we lose focus and go down the wrong path, but never feel shy to return to Allah Ta’ala. ‘Every son of Aadam is a sinner, but the best is he who repents’. Know that Allah Ta’ala is aware of all your struggles and Allah Ta’ala will NEVER abandon you. Your reward will be granted to you by Allah Ta’ala, and who is more Just than Allah Ta’ala?

It is my sincere dua that Allah Ta’ala keep us all firm on The Straight Path that leads us into the ‘Arms’ of Allah Ta’ala.
May Allah Ta’ala keep our Imaan strong and make us impeccable ambassadors of Islam.
May Allah Ta’ala grant all of us the ability to be a pillar of strength for all those who are determined to hold onto the right path.
May Allah Ta’ala makes us a source of guidance and inspiration for all of mankind.
May Allah Ta’ala reward all those who have inspired and motivated me throughout my life, and accept us all for deenul Islam.
May Allah Ta’ala reward the creator of this site for allowing us to assist & inspire others, as well as Ummi Kulthoom for encouraging me to share my journey.


“Strange is the visa of life….. it can be cancelled at any time, the duration of its validity unknown, & its extension too is impossible.”

20130930-135132.jpg

3 thoughts on “The beauty of hijaab, Anonymous Sister from S.A

Leave a comment